Arthur Ross Book Award 2022 Shortlist

Arthur Ross Book Award 2022 Shortlist Announced

Spread the love
Reading Time: 2 minutes

The shortlist for the Arthur Ross Book Award 2022 was announced on Wednesday. Endowed by businessman and philanthropist Arthur Ross in 2001, the award recognizes the contributions of non-fictional to the understanding of foreign policy. The award, managed by the US Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), covers books written on translated into the English language.

According to the CFR’s official website, the award gives special attention to three elements in the nominees:

  1. New information that changes the understanding of global events
  2. Analytical approaches that offer crucial insights into critical issues
  3. New ideas that help solve foreign policy problems

Here’s the shortlist for the Arthur Ross Book Award 2022:

  1. ‘A Matter of Trust: India-US Relations from Truman to Trump’Meenakshi Ahamed
  2. ‘The Long Game: China’s Grand Strategy to Displace American Order’Rushi Doshi
  3. ‘There is Nothing for You Here: Finding Opportunity in the Twenty-First Century’ Fiona Hill
  4. ‘Aftershocks: Pandemic Politics and the End of the Old International Order’Colin Kahl and Thomas Wright
  5. ‘The American War in Afghanistan: A History’ Carter Malkasian
  6. ‘This is How They Tell Me the World Ends: The Cyberweapons Arms Race’ – Nicole Perlroth
  7. ‘Blown to Hell: America’s Deadly Betrayal of the Marshall Islanders’ – Walter Pincus 
  8. ‘Not One Inch: America, Russia, and the Making of a Post-Cold War Stalemate’ Mary Elsie Sarotte

Jury for the Award:

  1. Gideon Rose (Chair) – Distinguished Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations
  2. Lisa Anderson – President Emerita, American University in Cairo
  3. Kwame Anthony Appiah – Professor, Philosophy and Law, New York University
  4. Sumit Ganguly – Rabindranath Tagore Chair in Indian Cultures and Civilizations, Indiana University at Bloomington 
  5. Michelle D. Gavin – Senior Fellow for Africa Studies, Council on Foreign Relations; Former U.S. Ambassador to Botswana
  6. Paul D. Golob – President and Executive Editor, Deadline Management LLC
  7. Calvin G. Sims – Executive Vice President of Standards and Practices, CNN
  8. Andrew Ross Sorkin – Columnist and Assistant Business Editor, New York Times
  9. Sue Mi Terry – Senior Fellow, Korea Chair, Center for Strategic & International Studies

The Arthur Ross Book Award was first awarded in 2002 and is given to three authors – Gold, Silver, and Bronze. In 2021, the honor was awarded to:

Gold Medal: Zachary D. Carter‘The Price of Peace: Money Democracy, and the Life of John Maynard Keynes’

Silver Medal: Peter Baker and Susan B. Glasser‘The Man Who Ran Washington: The Life and Times of James A. Baker III’

Bronze Medal: Robert D. Putnam and Shaylyn Romney Garrett‘The Uprising: How America Came Together a Century Ago and How We Can Do it Again’

For more updates from the publishing and literary world, follow Bombay Reads.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *