Costa Book Awards 2020 Shortlist Out, Winners to be Declared on Jan 04

Costa Book Awards 2020 Shortlist Out, Winners to be Declared on Jan 04

Spread the love
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Shortlist for the 2020 Costa Book Awards is out, and the winners will be declared on January 04, 2021. The prestigious prize is awarded in five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry, and Children’s Book. The Costa Book Awards, established in 1971, celebrates the most enjoyable books penned by writers from the UK and Ireland.

The award has grown to become one of the elite literary prizes in the United Kingdom. As the name suggests, the award is sponsored by the UK’s famous coffee brand, Costa Coffee. The award was earlier known as Whitbread Book Awards, until Costa Coffee, Whitbread’s subsidiary, took over the sponsorship in 2012.

Each of five winners from the categories will receive prize money of £5,000. However, the panel of judges will also choose the best book among the five winners, which will then be declared as the Costa Book of the Year. The winner of the Costa Book of the Year will get additional prize money of £30,000.

In 2012, Cost Book Awards introduced a separate award for short stories, though the finalists remain anonymous until the conclusion. Prize money for the winner is £3,000, and £1,500 & £500 for the second and the third place respectively. The winning short story, however, cannot be the Book of the Year.


First Novel:

Michelle Gallen – Big Girl, Small Town

Sairish Hussain – The Family Tree

Ingrid Persaud – Love After Love

Karen Raney – All the Water in the World


Susanna Clarke – Piranesi

Tim Finch – Peace Talks

Denise Mina – The Less Dead

Monique Roffey – The Mermaid of Black Conch: A Love Story


Julian Barnes – The Man in the Red Coat

Rachel Clarke – Dear Life

Lee Lawrence – The Louder I Will Sing

Jeff Young – Ghost Town: A Liverpool Shadow Play


Caroline Bird – The Air Year

Eavan Boland – The Historians

Rachel Long – My Darling from the Lions

Martha Sprackland – Citadel

Children’s Book:

Darren Charlton – Wranglestone

Natasha Farrant – Voyage of the Sparrowhawk

Jenny Pearson – The Super Miraculous Journey

Meg Rosoff – The Great Godden

Judges Panel

First Novel – Eric Karl Anderson, Jill Dawson, Debbie James

Novel – Poorna Bell, Sadie Jones, Iain Rushworth

Biography – Eleanor Rosamund Barraclough, Sumit Paul-Choudhury, Horatio Clare

Poetry – Zaffar Kunial, Tristam Fane Saunders, Leah Wikins

Children’s Book – Patrice Lawrence, John McLay, Alex O’Connell

Short Story – Sarah Franklin, Joe Haddow, Adele Parks, Simon Trewin, Kit de Waal

Checkout – Douglas Stuart Wins the 2020 Booker Prize

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *